Info about Senegal

 Estimated population (projected 2009): 12,171,265
 Density in 2009: 61.9 people per km2
 Total female population (2009 projection): 6150750
 Total male population (2009 projection): 6020515

Key Indicators
 GDP: 5944 billion CFA francs (in 2008)
 GDP per capita: 501 978 FCFA (2008)
 Growth rate: 3.3% (in 2008)
 Human Development Index (HDI) (2005) (UNDP Report): 0.499
 Inflation rate: 5.8% (in 2008)
 Illiteracy rate: 59.2% (2007)
 Combined gross enrollment rate: 86% (2007)

Senegal is the most advanced western Africa into the Atlantic Ocean, where Europe, Africa and the Americas, and a crossroads of major sea and air routes.

Covering an area of 196 722 km2, it is bounded on the north by Mauritania, east by Mali, south by Guinea and Guinea Bissau, west of the Gambia and the Atlantic Ocean on a frontage of 500 km.
Dakar (550 km2), the capital, is a peninsula in the far West.

> See the maps in Senegal

Ethnic groups: Wolof, Fulani, Serer, Toucouleur, Jola ...
Languages: French (official), Wolof, Toucouleur, Mandingo, ...
Religions: Animism, Islam, Christianity ...

Climate, vegetation
Dry tropical climate characterized by two seasons: a dry season from November to June and a rainy season from July to October.
Three types of vegetation: forest in the south, savannah in the north central and steppe
The climate is divided in 4 areas:
Coastal area, north of Dakar, cool weather from November to May
Sahelian zone, hot and dry climate
Sudanian zone, heavy rains
Area of Casamance, around 90 days of rain

Political Organization
The Republic of Senegal is a secular, democratic and social. It ensures equality before the law for all citizens, without distinction of origin, race, sex, religion. It respects all beliefs.

The official language of the Republic of Senegal is French.
The national languages are Diola, Malinke, the Pular, Serer, Soninke, Wolof and other national language to be codified.

Administrative Organization
Fourteen regions whose towns are the main cities: Dakar, Diourbel, Fatick Kaffrine Kedougou, Kaolack, Kolda, Louga, Matam, Saint Louis, Sédhiou, Tambacounda,